Group of people smiling and talking in an evening-lit dining room.
Chancellor May mingles with guests prior to the awards ceremony at the Chancellor’s Residence.

2023 recipients of the Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity and Community Honored

UC Davis celebrated the 2023 recipients of the Chancellor’s Achievement Awards for Diversity and Community, as well as the 20th anniversary of the awards program, in a March 29 ceremony at the Chancellor’s Residence.

Awards were presented in six categories to the following:

  • Zina Austin, staff
  • Alexus Roberts Hugghis, graduate student
  • Fuifuilupe Niumeitolu, post-doctorate
  • Stephany Sanchez, Academic Federation
  • Brian Soucek, Academic Senate
  • Emma Tolliver, undergraduate

Talent, tenacity, commitment

In her welcome remarks, Renetta Garrison Tull, vice chancellor of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, noted the impetus for the program’s founding 20 years ago: to honor exemplary accomplishments that contribute in substantial ways to the development and well-being of our diverse and evolving community.

“Tonight’s awardees were nominated and selected as their service, scholarship, contributions, leadership and outstanding efforts embody the Principles of Community.”

Chancellor Gary S. May also addressed the audience: “The award winners we recognize today remind me of how much talent, tenacity and commitment to diversity we find across UC Davis and our region.

“Our award recipients come from a wide range of backgrounds, and represent different fields. They’re the people who are helping to push UC Davis to deepen our connections and impact across our increasingly diverse communities. 

He acknowledged the work that lies ahead: “There remain opposing forces that constantly push against our efforts to integrate diversity, equity and inclusion in all we do.

“That’s why it’s so important to uplift and highlight UC Davis, students, faculty, staff, and post-doctoral students who do the great work of exemplifying our Principles of Community.”


View the Dateline Article "20 Years of Commitment"

Read Bios for the Awardees


Primary Category