UCD Health Office for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

banner image
Prep Medico
Prep Medico Scholars visited migrant farm-worker housing in Napa, delivering health education on topics such as: sun damage prevention, alcohol consumption, blood pressure and physical activity. 

The mission of the UC Davis Health Office for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion is to create a climate of inclusion reflected in structures, policies and practices; the demographics of UC Davis Health community; the attitudes and values of its members and leaders; and the quality of personal interactions. Its goals are to

  • Create, promote and foster an organization that values development, diversity and growth opportunities for all employees
  • Provide enhanced knowledge, skills and tools to respond and engage in a culturally sensitive and respectful mannerism with patients, visitors and our community as a whole
  • Provide quality training designed to increase individual and institutional engagement, increased morale, productivity and enrichment.

Diversity is a defining feature of the University of California and we embrace it as a source of strength. Our differences — of race, ethnicity, gender, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity, age, socioeconomic status, abilities, experience and more — enhance our ability to achieve the university’s core missions of public service, teaching and research. We welcome faculty, staff and students from all backgrounds and want everyone at UC to feel respected and valued.

Inclusion means we honor, respect, embrace and value the unique contributions and perspectives of all employees, patients, students, volunteers and our local and global communities.  It also includes removing barriers to individual success.

Campus Climate is the current attitudes, behaviors and standards of faculty, staff, administrators and students concerning the level of respect for individual needs, abilities and potential.

Learn more about the Health system's efforts to achieve inclusion excellence here.

Diversity Committees

There are a variety of committees within OEDI that has different functions, but with the same mission of achieving UC Davis Health organizational goals to improve diversity awareness and inclusion within our workforce. Each committee serves in a capacity that identifies inclusion and diversity strengths, issues, and opportunities within all aspects of UC Davis Health. As well as, strategically: (a) make recommendations regarding inclusive and diverse approaches, (b) examine programs, activities, policies, publications, and practices to determine intentional or unintentional exclusiveness, and (c) engage members in scholarly dialogues, as well as evidence-based instruction and practices that reflect inclusion and diversity. The intended outcome for these committee groups is to support diverse learning environments where faculty, staff and students can reach their full potential by contributing their skills, abilities and creativity with excellence.

View the Chancellor's Administrative Advisory Committees.

Staff Advisory Committee for Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (SACEDI)
(for internal use only)

Daniel Marenco, Co-Chair
(vacant), Co-Chair

Vice Chancellor's LGBTQ+ Advisory Council

Chao-Yin Chen, PhD, Chair
Edward Callahan, PhD, Past Chair
Paul D. Terry, Vice Chair

Vice Chancellor's Advisory Committee on Faculty Excellence in Diversity (FED)

Ruth Shim, MD, MPH (Chair)
Verónica Martínez-Cerdeño, PhD (Vice-Chair)

Learning Climate Committee (LCC)

Mark Servis, MD, Chair

Health Equity

Kupiri Ackerman-Barger, PhD, RN, Co-Chair
Swati Rao, MD, Co-Chair

Women in Medicine and Health Sciences (WIMHS)

Melissa Bauman, PhD, Director

The Mentoring Academy

Julie Schweitzer, PhD, Chair

Employee Resource Groups

African American Faculty and Staff Association (AAFSA)
Charron Andrus, Chair
Darrell Desmond, Vice-Chair
Lisa Word, Secretary
Charlene Green, Treasurer

Asian Pacific American Systemwide Alliance (APASA)
Maricel Lumaquin, Chair
Bernadette Abucayan, Vice Chair
Samantha Yang, Secretary
Fely Lambating, Treasurer
Helen Mondia, Volunteer Coordinator
Brent Luu, Faculty Advisor
Voltaire Sinigayan, Faculty Advisor

Abilities Employee Resource Group (web site coming soon)
Jenny Carrick, Chair
Carolyn Ramirez, Vice Chair
Carly Davis, Secretary
Kristen Bettega, Treasurer

Latino Staff and Faculty Association
Arthur Hernandez, Chair
Patricia Gonzalez, Vice Chair
Yvonne Calderon, Secretary
Mercedes Piedra, Treasurer

PRIDE - LGBTQ+ Employee Resource Group
Matthew St. Amant, Chair
Kate Turpin, Vice Chair
(Vacant), Secretary
(Vacant), Treasurer
Members-at-large: Annie Caruso, Jessica Martin, Laura Barnes, Amy Rose

Staff Assembly
Annie Caruso, Chair
Chitra Rao, Vice Chair
Elba Magana, Secretary
Janette Manuel, Treasurer

SWADAAC (Status of Women at Davis Administrative Advisory Committee)
Lynette Mendoza, Chair
Vicki Ross, Vice Chair

Veteran Employee Association
Jim Marchetti, Chair
Larissa Rees, Co-Chair
Rebecca Morse, Secretary
Marian Brotzman, Treasurer